Reduce, Re-use, Recycle


I understand reducing the amount of things, both trash and recyclables, that we use. The less we use, the less gets sent to a landfill. I get it, and I support it, even if I don’t always follow it closely.

I recycle at my home; I always have, all the way back to when I was growing up in my parent’s house. I was very perturbed when my husband and I moved to a small town in Mississippi that did not recycle, and was thrilled when everywhere else I’ve lived has city or county recycling pick-ups. I get it, and I support it.

Re-using things; I don’t get this, or support it. Maybe I just don’t understand it. I was watching “Sid the Science Kid” on PBS the other day with  my kids. They were talking about reusing things and making other things. Basically, using a paper towel tube and yogurt cartons to make a toy. Or Sid used his broken electrical robot to hold pencils. To me, this is just putting off the moment when this item will go in the trash. It’s like “Yay, we are reusing the the paper towel tube instead of putting it in the recycling bin!” when in reality, 2 weeks later, you are saying “Well, I’m throwing this piece of garbage away; I can’t recycle it, it has glitter and tape all over it.”

I can’t re-use everything or my house would be overflowing with what is, essentially, trash. I’m sorry, I don’t want yogurt cup goggles or paper towel tube vases all over my house. It’s going in the recycling bin right away.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 14:12:02

    I understand what you’re saying about not wanting yogurt goggles or paper towel tube whatevers….I think for the kid shows, they’re trying to introduce a concept with items that kids actually use up. As adults, we use up/wear out things that can be reused (or repurposed, which I think is the new way of putting it) whereas kids just pretty much use up things by rendering them useless and creating trash. But there are times where, for example, you might have a shirt that you just never liked, or you’ve grown tired of, or something, but it’s not “trash” – it might still be in good shape. Instead of tossing it or donating it to Goodwill (which is obviously always an option) you can ‘reuse’ or repurpose it into something else that you like. Then you’re not having to just throw it away and buy new. I understand THAT idea of reusing – but yeah, not the yogurt cups and egg cartons and paper towel/toilet paper roll things.

    Reply

  2. Our Fresh Fun Family
    Sep 29, 2011 @ 16:11:10

    That’s true, but eventually, it’s still going to be tossed. I guess it just struck me on the kids show what a bunch of garbage they were making; with three kids, I have enough trash in my home already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

