Cheese Empanadas


Have you ever made empanadas before? They remind me of pizza pockets or calzones. My husband really likes them; growing up in South America, they ate empanadas all the time. So for the end-of-the-year party at our co-op, I decided to bring them to share. I never have much success with the dough, though, so I was really hesitant to make them. UNTIL I discovered pre-made frozen empanada dough! Amazing! I did have to go to the Hispanic market, but the package was only $2. Well worth my wasted time and effort to make gross dough!

So anyway, I thought I would share the (EASY) recipe, along with photos, so you can make your own. Although I was only making cheese empanadas, you could easily add ham, so it’s more like a sandwich, or pepperonis for a calzone taste.

Leave the frozen dough disks on the counter for about an hour to defrost. Don’t try to pull them apart while frozen, you’ll only tear them. Separate a few eggs and save the egg white; you don’t need the yolks. Whisk the whites together a little bit.

Pour several tablespoons of oil in a pan and turn the heat on medium high. You want the oil to heat to about 350 for cooking.

Lay the thawed dough disks on the counter or pan. I used a pan for easier clean up. Brush the egg white mixture on one side of each disk.

Place your filling in the middle. Again, I just used shredded mozzarella cheese, so it was easy. Get creative with your own filling!

Fold the dough over in half, forming a half moon. Use a fork to press down around the curved edges.

Place the empanadas in the hot oil. Allow them to cook for two to three minutes, or until lightly browned.

Turn the empanadas over and allow them to cook on the second side.

Place the finished empanadas on a paper towel to soak up some of the oil. Allow them to cool several minutes before eating.

Dip the empanadas into pizza sauce, sour cream or salsa. Almost anything tastes good with these!

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

